Privately owned historic house in Abbottabad,NWFP


Abbottabad, NWFP, Pakistan..height of this heavenly garden is 4100 feet above sea level …

Abbottabad was founded in 1853 AD by Major ( later General, Sir) James Abbott of Blackheath London, who became first deputy commissioner of Hazara,.. and Hazara gazetteer of 1883 AD declared Abbottabad as the most beautiful hilly town of sub continent..trees from UK and Kashmir were brought to this unmatchable town and avenues and landscapes of Abbottabad had trees of horse chestnuts, Elms, Ash, Pistacia, Chinar (Kashmir maple), himalayan pine, Cedars of Lebanon, fragrant camphors of England, etc…and shrubs and flowers of all kinds including fragrant gardenias etc..Major James Abbott fell in love with the rolling hills and awe inspiring views of Himalayan peaks of this thickly forested little England of East and he wrote following mystical lyrical Love poem in the praise of nature and Abbottabad

Poem “Town Abbottabad” by Major (later General, Sir) James Abbott

I remember the day when I first came here
And smelt the sweet Abbottabad air
The trees and ground covered with snow
Gave us indeed a brilliant white glow
To me place seemed like a dream
And far ran a lonesome stream
The wind hissed as if welcoming us
The pine swayed creating a lot of fuss
And the tiny cuckoo sang it away
A song very melodious and gay
I adored the place from the first sight
And was happy that my coming here was right
And eight good years here passed very soon
And we leave our perhaps on a sunny day
Oh! Abbottabad we are leaving you now
To your natural beauty do I bow
Perhaps your wind’s sound will never reach my ear
My gift for you is a tear
I bid you farewell with a heavy heart
Never from my mind will you memories thwart

About jugnoo

I am Jugnoo. Jugnoo means in our local language " an insect who lightens at night" so i think i am not an insect but a person who is trying to spread some light by sharing of knowledge & information through my blog. So this is me "Jugnoo"
This entry was posted in Pakistani Photographers/ Pakistani Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Privately owned historic house in Abbottabad,NWFP

  1. gangland says:

    Hi everyone, A friend asked me to join gangland.org, and I have become addicted to this gangster game. I have already whacked out several mob bosses and gone into partnership with Salvatore two fingers. Let me know if you join then you can say hello to my little friend! or if you want I can send you an invite for our crew!

    gangland

Leave a Reply

