Inherit the throne




Inherit the throne, originally uploaded by phxpma.

This chair is one of several pieces that was given as a wedding gift by my paternal grandparents to my mom and dad, handcrafted by artisans in the city of Gujrat.

The furniture has followed us to every house my parents moved to, spanning four countries and almost as many decades. I’ve seen this chair my entire life.

Now, it’s not remotely comfortable to sit on. Never was, even when I was a little kid. But it’s got its own sense of quiet majesty, sitting in the far corner of my parents’ living room, where the overflow guests sit once all the giant couches are taken.

My mom has wondered aloud recently as to which of her kids will inherit all their traditional items from Pakistan. Time will tell. My brother and I will probably sit and discuss it. But I definitely want to see our grandparents’ legacy continued to be passed down, whether it’s to my brother’s future kids or mine.

And then they can keep it in a corner of their living rooms for their overflow guests.

About jugnoo

I am Jugnoo. Jugnoo means in our local language " an insect who lightens at night" so i think i am not an insect but a person who is trying to spread some light by sharing of knowledge & information through my blog. So this is me "Jugnoo"
This entry was posted in Pakistani Photographers/ Pakistani Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

